Chilling

Yes, it’s good to be back.

I enjoyed my Turkish breakfast, followed by a gossip with friend and guesthouse owner Doǧan. Then I walked to Taksim Square via the Galata Bridge and Istaklal Cadessi, stopping for a very welcome coffee and cake about halfway.

It’s a 2.7 mile (4.3 km) walk and I enjoyed it after a day on my travels. I walked all the way back too!

For the afternoon I decided on a short ferry trip up the Bosphorus. The ferry company offers a 6 hour trip (almost as far as the Black Sea) or a 2 hour one - as far as Istinye. The short one sets you back a whopping 12TL (just over £2).

Of course you can pay much more on a tourist boat.

I thoroughly enjoyed it. I’d done the longer version many years ago, so I half remembered what to expect. Going out on the water really is a good way to see the city and beyond, especially when you’ve had enough of walking. 

The Blip... just fellow tourists doing the same as me.

In the extras - the traditional vapur passenger ferries which crisscross the waterways - two of which do those Bosphorus trips in between rush hour duties on regular services, and the Mecidiye Camii (mosque) right by the ferry pier at Ortaköy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.