kiloblip

 If a picture is really worth a thousand words, does my 1000th photo now make me a blip millionaire?

I guess milestones can be about looking back and looking forward.

Looking back to when I started blipping (and thanks again to my sister Cherryflapjack for introducing me to it), I thought that as well as hopefully improving my photography it would give me a chance to record some of the places across the country that I visited as part of my job, as well as some more local sights. Just as well then that I didn’t know that the following thousand days would bring redundancy, unemployment, a fixed-term job, and unemployment again amongst all the other usual stuff of everyday life. It also brought varying amounts of new information (Google & Wikipedia have never been so well used, as I searched for more details on my blip subjects when I was working away from home), varying quantities and qualities of my own commentaries accompanying those photos, and the odd frustrated rant (sorry for my weather one yesterday – it somehow seemed more important and relative at the time!) It’s brought times when I’ve thanked everyone for every star or heart they’ve awarded me, and other times, especially more recently, when I’ve only thanked for the hearts. But thanks again for all those stars – I’ve appreciated every single one. As I have all the comments I’ve not managed to reply to as well!

Looking forward to the next 1000 days – who knows what’s to come?  (Just as well maybe). A new job is on the horizon; travel for work isn’t, so as with these last few months blips will stay a bit more local rather than national. (Don’t expect any upturn in quality).

As for today – well, what to do to mark what I’m calling my kiloblip? Well, if you’re anything like me, you have a bunch of potential subjects/views that you keep in the back of your mind, thinking “I’ll blip that one day” The village of Gartocharn is just 3 miles up the road, and I drive through it often, rarely stopping, and almost since the day I started blipping I’ve thought that one day I would photograph the old petrol pump that’s outside a house on the main street. So what better than to make my one thousandth day to be that one day.
 

Thanks to all who have visited or followed my journal.

Oh, and apologies for all my exclamation marks and brackets (I think I may be addicted!) But don’t expect any change there.  :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.