twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

I'd figured that the early bird caught the worm so the previous evening I'd set the alarm so I could be up with the lark. Duly I was up and out; no swanning about in bed for me. Blip done I headed off in search of a 100km bike ride. Redstone Rigg or bust. 

Off through Leith and into the next county; passing Musselburgh and heading off up into Wallyford and the hideousness that is Tranent. Onwards; east wards; Macmerry Gladsmuir with a downhill / tail wind that ripped up kilometers 20 to 30 in fine time. Right turn in Haddy on inland towards Gifford; a sharp left and hills start to feature. But the initial cold is wearing off (not that I noticed it for long after I got moving through Leith). Ahead the road clearly striking out across the moorland. 

But quiet; larks high (literally and metaphotically); lapwings swooping about; and a million dead pheasants lining the highways and byways of East Lothian.

Oh it has some nice bits but it has some shockers too; the final zig zag to the summit is as near to a standstill I've come to on a bike in a while. But my years in the mountains teaches me to read terrain and I knew where it levelled out; measured the effort and popped out on the flatter bit just I was about done. Not the speediest ascent but given the 25 mile lead in, I was slightly better than warmed up. 

Cold water ingested and at 47km I turned and went back down the hill from whence I came. I momentarily wondered about carrying on to Berwick and catching a train back,. but I had a school pick up and would rather be in charge of my own destiny.

After a quick coffee in the Lanterne Rouge, I took a more direct route back to Tranent and once more picked up the outward route.

Until I got to Leith; I realised i was going to be about 8km shy of the 100 so went onto the path and up to Craigleith; doubled back to Silverknowes and swept down to Cramond before a steady 20mph for the final 5 miles home; just shows how much the wind was hampering me on the back nine.

A quick bath; school pick up and lunch. Shoulders aching, but mostly OK; G arrived. And we took the Cannondale to Douglas for new brake cables / drive mech / bar tape. And conveniently the new puppy at the bike shop was available for a wander around on the playing fields. 

That done we came home; minor niggles on the way, but once in it died and before you knew it, G was at Ainslie Park, boys were fed and TV was on. I caught the sun a bit but not a bad day; endorphins still surging through me so I will sleep - eventually...!

Extra is nearing the top.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.