Miles from home

We returned to the city this afternoon, as S had an appointment with her acupuncturist. She finds it very helpful, as I did for running/stress injuries in the past. The more complicated disorders that acupuncture is used for has variable evidence to support it being helpful, but many people do feel that it helps. Muscle and joint problems, I'm convinced, are helped.

While she was with the acupuncturist, I went to Wynyard Quarter and walked around with my camera. I saw three of the Big Hoot Owls; one did not grab my attention at all. This one I liked its position as well as the artwork. The other I will return to another day, I'm sure.

The extra is the front on view of the Big Hoot Owl, which the artist (Mauricio Benega) has called Piha Morepork Waves Watcher. Piha is a classic West Coast beach with big surf (often very dangerous). Benega spent time in Piha, and knew that "on a good surf day a Morepork would hoot to announce the waves".

The actual Piha morepork (known to Maori as Ruru) is many miles to the west at Piha. The Big Hoot version is placed near the edge of the Wynyard Quarter and looks out over yachts in the Westhaven Marina to the Harbour Bridge. The marina is designed to obliterate waves, and this far into the Waitemata Harbour, the waves are rarely big. The Big Hoot Piha Morepork will therefore be silent.

IF it does hoot, those who hear should take cover as it will likely be  warning of a tsunami coming.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.