It's never to soon...

Dear Diary,

Whenever I travel I try to read books before hand that will give me an insight into the places I will visit.  When I went to France I read two Ken Follett books on cathedral building in Medieval France.  It really helped me appreciate what I saw.  I will be visiting Scotland and England in September and I ordered two books for that journey and they arrived yesterday.

One is a historical fiction about a monk and his cat on Lindisfarne in the 7th century, the holy island in Northumbria where I will be staying for a few days.  It is written by a historian of the region and gives great detail and factual content but wrapped up in a delightful story.  The second book is, The Way of the Traveler, by Joseph Dispenza.  It is really about how one travels rather than where one travels.  This has always been very important to me because I think there are two ways to travel, as a tourist or a journeyer.  I prefer the latter.  It is never too early to begin preparing for a journey.  Anticipation is a wonderful thing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.