April bivvy

I had planned to bivvy out tonight near Gatehouse of Fleet, where the choir are performing tomorrow, but after keeping a weather eye open all week, I changed the date to last night. After the yoga and kirtan evening, which raised £186 for Mary's Meals, I headed for Ward Law, the site of a former signal station, beacon, Iron Age hill fort and Roman Camp. "Ward Law" means "watcher of the hill" and although this hill is only 96m above sea level and now covered with trees there are amazing views in all directions, especially over the Solway Firth. This morning I met a local man walking his dogs and he told me how from the top of the hill you can see the channels in the Firth moving "like a video" and find out which way is safe to take a fishing boat. He also said that when he was headed back to Scotland from South of the border, the sight of Ward Law made him feel that he was on his way home. I imagine that many people have used it as a navigation aid when sailing, as it is an obvious and reliable landmark.

On my way to Ward Law last night, I saw a barn owl, white in dusk flight, and during the night, tawny owls were calling in the trees above me. The dawn chorus was loud and joyful, and later in the morning, I saw my first swallow of the year at Caerlaverock Castle.

I was awake at 6am and took my time before packing up and leaving, enjoying the views of the Firth in mist below (extra). Then I walked through Castle Wood and around the grounds of the castle itself (2nd extra).

It was a magical night and one which will shine bright in my memory :-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.