Carving Neeps...

I was helping the kids carve their pumpkins tonight. I have often wondered to myself whilst doing this whether I imagined or it did indeed happen that when I was their age, we used to hollow out turnips and carve them. Pumpkins being readily available in the shops and in abundance just for this practice.

The reason I thought it imagined is that I cannot fathom how I would have hollowed out a vegetable that I struggle to cut. It's one of those questions that Facebook is wonderful at answering and true enough, it turns out that it was a common practice. Mait even said that pumpkins weren't invented when he was a nipper.

Anyway, pumpkins hollowed and carved and I've got a lovely large pile of pumpkin flesh for some pumpkin risotto tomorrow night. Lush.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.