Hadrian's Wall

I'm now spending 3 days walking part of Hadrian's Wall with 2 friends, one of whom was my best friend at school rather a lot of years ago! Today we walked from Greenhead to a super B&B  near Haydon Bridge (it's called The Old Repeater Station - seemingly it was once a telegraph relay station between Newcastle and Carlisle). So that was 14 miles plus a great deal of up and down (the Romans didn't believe in going round hills, they just went over them!). The main photo is a pretty classical view at Crag Lough.

Towards the end of today's walk one of my pals suddenly said, "Am I hallucinating, or is there a Roman centurion behind us?!" He wasn't hallucinating, see the extra. Happily the centurion understood English as our Latin isn't too good. It wasn't entirely clear to us why he was in costume but he was planning to walk much further than us today (he was probably half our age) so he soon sped on ahead of us.

(I haven't been able to do much editing of the photos as I only have my phone here to transfer them from the camera to blip.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.