Camouflage

The weather was perfect and I had all morning to spend on photography, since my husband is out of town.  I drove down to Huntley Meadows in Virginia to look for ducks, hawks, gnatcatchers, woodpeckers, etc.  I was thrilled to find fellow blipper Photomatt there.  It was only 9 AM, which I thought was pretty good considering the 40 minute drive to get there, but he was already on his way out.  He was kind enough to return to the boardwalk with me, and show me where he had found birds and critters.  I can't say I was as successful as he was, but I did get a shot of this Blue-gray Gnatcatcher adding lichens to the nest.  It was a textbook example of camouflage.  It truly did look like a knot on the limb, making it difficult to identify.  This gnatcatcher nest is near the beginning of the trail, so it attracted lots of photographers, birders, and loud children! 
 
I have also added a male Hooded Merganser as an extra.  I think I'm going to go back tomorrow morning, but earlier.  I'm so glad we finally have a sunny weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.