Two tulips

These two tulips were the only ones that flowered in one of last year's pots of bulbs, so we cut them for the house as they look a good deal better in a vase than they did in the pot. I love the way the predominant mauve colour feathers into white at the edges of the petals - just the sort of effect tulips do so well. And I like the simplicity of just two flowers. 

This morning I sowed courgettes and cucumbers, salad rocket and other salad leaves, and basil. If this weather stays warmish they should be through quite quickly. We also divided some agapanthus, which is supposed to like being left pot-bound, but these had been so shy of flowering that we decided it was worth a gamble. They were a solid mass of roots, so I hope we're lucky and that this spurs them into flowering better. I think we had only one flower spike from about 5 or 6 leaf rosettes last year.

I've spent ages scratching my head over why the X-A10's photos seemed over-exposed at the bottom, until it occurred to me the rotate an image 180 degrees, and sure enough the effect was reversed too, so it's my laptop screen, not the camera...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.