An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Forgive me...

Backblip

But it's the only photo I took today.  Taken on the way home from the Out of Hours Surgery at Perth Royal Infirmary.

Basically the day started badly and got progressively worse.

I didn't sleep a wink for the second night running.  Couldn't get comfortable, just kept coughing and sneezing and generally feeling progressively worse. Made myself have a shower and get dressed in the hope it would make me feel better, which it did for a little while.

Sat in the garden room in the lovely sunshine.  Spring here at last.  Just a pity we couldn't really enjoy it.  David is absolutely loaded with the cold too.

After a couple of hours I had to go back upstairs as I felt I had to lie down but no matter what I did I just could not get comfortable and on the few occasions sleep did overcome me, I woke within seconds coughing.  The second time it happened I just could not catch my breath and it was really frightening.  I thought I was going to pass out.  

David came upstairs, took one look at me and decided he was phoning NHS 24 as by this point I couldn't even talk without starting another coughing fit.  

His telephone conversation with the woman on the other end of the phone was hilarious (if only I'd been in a position to find it funny) as she was asking him loads of questions that he couldn't answer e.g "Is your wife's colour paler than usual or more flushed than usual?"  "Erm, I'm not sure.  Paler I think but that might be because she normally has makeup on."  

He was also able to tell her that my temperature was 38 degrees, my resting pulse rate 101and my oxygen saturation 91 (we have all the gadgets to measure these stats for Alan when he's ill)  I can't help but think she's now left with the impression we are complete hypochondriacs or have a bit of a Dr & Nurse fetish going on!!!  :D

Anyway, the outcome was a trip to our nearest out of hours surgery where I was seen by a really lovely Doctor who diagnosed a chest infection and inflamed respiratory tubes.  I left armed with antibiotics and a ventolin inhaler.  

On the way home I realised I had no blip for today and I am afraid this is all I could muster.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.