Continuing the garden record

One for the record.  I like to do this so I can compare from one year to the next the dates when things flower.  The wallflowers and tulips on the left are going to occupy this space temporarily until I decide what I want to plant here more permanently.  We took the Bay tree out last year as it was blocking the view across the garden and although I'd like to plant another it won't be in this bed.  The magnolia is later this year, but has been going strong for several years now.  Last year I took my photograph on the 1st April.  We've had the Marsh Marigolds (King Cups) in the pond ever since it was first built (I think around 2000) but they never seem to spread, unlike the `Dock' related Bistort.

I've just looked back to last year and realised that I'd photographed the Female Orange-tip butterfly exactly one year ago.  My memory is of much greener weather and far more wild flowers in the hedgerow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.