Mrs Orange Tip

Following on from Ann’s report of there being lots of Orange Tip butterflies on the top road I decided my excursion for the morning would be to explore that area this morning.  So after a friendly conversation with Mrs Peter, who own the farm and land,  I set off to explore.  I was looking for Milk Maids (the lilac pink plant above) and initially failed to find one.  I’d given up and decided that I’d walk home via Jean’s farm when looking over the fence I spotted them growing in the lower end of the field.  So, checking out the plants and finding no butterflies on them I’d just about given up when a plant near the stile had one resting on the top and then the next plant along had one  (this one above).  The great thing is that after seeing all males for the last few days these two were  female.  So perhaps the males were not hunting in vain.

The most amusing bit of my escapade was when Peter returned from his `firewood’ hunt and saw me, low in the field with the tripod and long lens and came to the conclusion that I was some old dear in an electric buggy who had got stuck.  I needed to reassure him that I was fine and it was only my knees that had got stuck as I tried to get up from my kneeling position!

We’ve been to the RPS Photo Book exhibition at Swinton Library this afternoon.  It was really interesting to talk to Don about his books and hand made book making.  I’m feeling inspired.

p.s. The orange spot is a single egg laid on the plant.  See Lifecycle on this beautifully laid out website.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.