Colour Fix

A meeting in Wigan this afternoon.

It's a proud town, and the  town centre seems to be doing OK, although some of the 1980's development looks a bit tired to me (I much prefer the victorian buildings). Will people learn to cherish 1980's "architecture" ? I somehow think not.

Like all the other Greater Manchester town centres it faces challenges. Out of town shopping and now the big shift to on-line has changed and are changing the retail environment fast. These centres have to develop to survive.

I liked the Makinson Arcade, but not the 1980's centre attached to it. The umbrellas are very colourful, and very appropriate for this week. The world beyond the arcade looked very grey, we're back to gloomy greyness and rain. I need a bit of colour, so skipping the usual Mono on a Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.