National Sovereignty & Children's Day

Monday has been another full day.

I’ve moved to Girne on the north coast, where I stayed in the autumn. I’m in the same apartment as last time as well. Andriy the owner is a pleasant, relaxed character and I prefer being in a normal environment as opposed to a holiday apartment complex.

He did tease me about still being single 6 months down the line. Ach well. Maybe I’ll put an ad in the paper when I get back. Is that still a thing?

On the way west today I stopped at Kantara Kalesi, a mountain top castle dating from the 10th century. Crusaders. Lusignans. Genoese. Etc. It was an epic road getting up there - 2nd gear for 20 minutes - and amazing views from the top.

Then I stopped at Salamis, another historic ruin, but older. It was the island’s first city, in classical Greek times.

For those used to Western European prices for such frippery, entry to Salamis was £1.50 and to Kantara just over £1.

I was slightly sad to leave Kumyalı. I could have seen myself staying a week there - not for the village, but because the guesthouse is such a laid back place. All the guests seemed to be too. Maybe next time.

Anyway, time to think of possible adventures for Tuesday, whilst building in plenty of “do nothing” time too. 

The Blip is the amphitheatre at Salamis. More selfie madness... although to be fair, it was good to see so many young locals visiting. It has been a public holiday here.

The extras are a shot from the castle looking northeast, and one of the other spectacular parts of Salamis - the bath and gymnasium complex.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.