I’m back. In Austria and Blip.

In a bizarre set of circumstances I was diagnosed with a small tumour in my right breast, 14 years after a tumour in the other side. I was meant to be flying home the day I got my diagnosis but was advised to stay and consider my options. I decided to go with my trusted breast surgeon in Australia and a recommended plastic surgeon for a mastectomy and reconstruction. There followed a whirlwind week of tests and surgeon visits. All went well and I was allowed to fly home to my husband 3 1/2 weeks after the op. Unfortunately, I developed a seroma (fluid) in the breast during the trip home. Two weeks later I am in hospital in Vienna for IV antibiotics, drainage and culture of the fluid. Wish me luck that this story ends here, on this sunny terrace, outside my hospital room in a few days time.

I didn’t forget about Blip and have been taking photos most days for back blipping, though mostly with the phone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.