Landfall

Well, as much as I would love to be showing you outrageous storm pictures that I was brave enought to capture...instead I decided to be safe and stay home. The kinds of things I saw today could not really be captured without video. The winds were the strongest I have every seen in my life.
As you can see from my blip, I am washing up by candlelight. We lost power hours ago. We do have a generator to keep our sump pump going in the lower part of the house so we don't flood and to power the fridge so our food doesn't spoil. Using the cell phone as a wifi hot spot I am able to upload this picture. Technology is a wonderful thing!
I'm sure tomorrow (hopefully) I will be able to get outside to get some pictures of the damage around here. Many trees down, power lines too. Transformers are popping all over town. It's making for quite a light show! The sky keeps lighting up with blue and green lights. I'll be glad when it's all over.
This storm is HUGE and it will be hours yet before the worst is over. I am fortunate that my family is all safe. I am sad to see the beaches along the coast under water but as the news keeps saying, 'property damage is terrible but never as terrible as a loss of life'...We are fortunate so far. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.