Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

The Nocturne

I spent some time at the piano today, going through several of my favorite Chopin nocturnes. I can still remember being given this music to learn and falling immediately in love with their haunting, melancholy sound. The large, expansive open chords played by your left hand are so beautiful, they could almost stand alone. But then, add a delicate, heart wrenching melody with your right hand, and it never fails to send shivers down my back.

Chopin wrote approximately 21 nocturnes in total, most composed when he was only in his twenties. (of course, he died at the tender age of 39, what a loss!). While playing the nocturnes today, my thoughts turned to friends and family in New Jersey and New York, sitting in the dark with candles and flashlights, the storm howling outside their windows. The music seemed a fitting backdrop to the turmoil and drama that was unfolding out there. My blipfoto today (using my new camera's 'dramatic tone' art setting) serves to illustrate both the mood created by the nocturnes, and the dark, foreboding storm pounding the east coast.

My thoughts and prayers go to everyone coping with this most unusual hurricane.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.