Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Meat and Potatoes

One of my favorite winter activities is cooking with some music cranked up in the background, and a glass of my favorite wine in hand. Tonight felt like meat and potatoes; a food combination that was rare in my mostly-Chinese food childhood kitchen where fish, chicken, tofu, rice and veggies were more standard fare.

Since this Friday is our big night out to hear The Manhattan Transfer at Jazz Alley, and since I hardly ever wear heels, I decided to get some practice by wearing my snazzy new shoes while cooking the aforementioned meat and potatoes. I figured, if I can slice mushrooms, whip up smooth and creamy mashed potatoes, pan fry some steaks, and not fall flat on my face, I'll do just fine at the show. And? I did just fine tonight.

I can hardly believe tomorrow is the last day of October, and that I will be blipping from a new house, in a (sort of) new town in one week. Happy Halloween!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.