Coffee Snobs

Today was an odd day. First of all I slept in - properly. 
Was at my desk at 9:30 only without my usual hot then cold shower to wake me up. Things were busy and I was multitasking but felt inefficient. 
I had Irineu scheduled for 1:30 pm for my Portuguese lesson and stopped working at 1 pm to get prepared. However, he never turned up ... After 2 pm I messaged him and we found out that he had put down the lesson for tomorrow. So we changed to tomorrow.
I went back to work but did not feel focussed. Then Jack called. After the call I thought it was a good idea to get out for a coffee but it was already after 4 pm, meaning getting closer to closing time. 
Then I received a text from DPD that my Amazon delivery would be within the next 15 minutes!
Since months I am eying on upgrading my coffee making facilities to something more "real" and had done some research on good but not ridiculously expensive espresso machines, so that we can enjoy at home similar good coffees as we do in our coffee shops. After the last chat with Davide I knew what I wanted and we ordered yesterday. The coffee machine we wanted was on offer with 100 Pounds off at John Lewis and there was no reason to delay further. I ordered the matching grinder from amazon, all for arrival today!
Thus I thought I would better stay in the house to receive the beauty.
20 minutes later the driver was there and delivered only the silicone mat ..... the grinder would arrive sometime between now and 8 pm! Doh!
It was 5 pm in the meantime and coffee shops were closed.
So I stayed in and tried to finish off a few things at work.
I am flying to FRA on Wednesday morning and I need to get as much as possible done before I am stuck in meetings for 2 days.
The grinder arrived at 6-ish and at 8 pm I started clearing the kitchen space, cleaning the old machine which Neil will take to his office.
Neil had picked the new machine at Waitrose on his way home.
We spend the evening unpacking the new gadgets and setting it up.
We are very happy with the quality of the espresso maker and the grinder, but it will take a bit of practice to get it all adjusted for the perfect espresso.
After several attempts and quite some dose of caffeine we called it a day, had some food and an hour on the couch.

Tomorrow will be a busy day. I need to get packed for Germany. I will stay until Sunday and need to make sure  have all with me I may need.
I will be staying with Christina all the time.

Neil will be flying to Saudi on Saturday and will stay 2 weeks.
I will come back to an empty house.

As I was not out there is only a poor late night picture of the new coffee maker ......



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.