Rising of the Moon

Perched on top of the highest sand dune hubby and I could find, we watched the sun going down behind the mountains way, way in the distance lighting the estuary with golden light.

The air was still as the birds made their last calls, the waves of the Pacific Ocean quietly rolled upon the beach, a few people ambled along the beach below us as we waited for the rising of the full moon.

The horizon was a bit cloudy, we were not to hopeful but then there was a delicate soft pink as the ball of the moon started to rise. It rose quite quickly playing hide and seek with the clouds, the pink slowly changed to golden sending shimmers across the sea and onto the wet sand, while behind us the sunset was lingering until the very last of the light was gone.

We clambered down the sand dunes in the dark and walked along the beach, hand in hand, as the moon climbed higher and shone brighter. By the time we reached the car the moon had left the clouds behind, beaming across the farms and bouncing of the mist in low lying areas sending light in all directions, guiding us home.

Not the best of photos but my first in these conditions. I had no idea what I was doing and was afraid of missing the moment, perhaps in time I can improve on this.

Its now late and this kiwi girl is saying goodnight - I wouldn't mind getting up for the sunrise but I would have to rise at 5.30, it might be a little early.

I'll try to catch up with you all tomorrow :)



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.