Happy Days

This is the title given by the artist, Biljana Snjegota. She writes that in this piece she is expressing a desire for a better and happier life for children. Her style is described as abstract impressionism with energetic colours.

This particular Big Hoot Owl is placed only a couple of metres away from a permanent brass sculpture, which I have blipped in the past. It is in a small area with trees and seats and minimal presence of cars, and is a child friendly oasis only about 50 m away from K Road on Pitt Street. The area is shared with a daytime bagelry which becomes a bar in the evenings. The buildings were once a tram station, and public lavatories. A very long time ago.

When I was walking along K Road to find this Big Hoot Owl, I heard my name called. Turned to greet a man who was one of my patients 20 years ago. We walked and talked, as we had done not too long ago; also when I had passed him while walking. He manages well enough, but his quality of life would satisfy few people. I hope that the Inquiry results in more social provision for people like him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.