Hurricane Sandy

I am posting this a day late because the storm knocked our TV and computer off-line last night. However, right here in our section of Ohio, we have been very fortunate. Yes, there are trees down and power outages, but our neighborhood has been pretty much spared. Our power only blinked a few times, but came right back on. Schools are closed all over the area, including the cities of Cleveland and Akron and all suburbs. Bob andI had planned to go to Akron today for a retirement seminar, but we have decided to stay put right here at home. I have been watching the news coverage of this "Frankenstorm" on Good Morning, America and the Today Show. Some of it is frightening to watch. My prayers are for the people in the New York and New Jersey area, where the flooding and wind damage is horrific. Watching the scenes of hospitals that had to evacuate, carrying seriously ill babies from the neo-natal unit down the stairs, disturbed me deeply. Scenes of deep snow in the mountains in western Maryland and WestVirginia are also shocking, snow heavy enough to cause the closing of Highway 68, which we have traveled many times!

So, on a more cheerful note, I thought I would post the picture of this soggy little squirrel foraging for food under my feeder yesterday. Notice how useful his tail is in keeping him at least partially dry. I will not head out for a photo walk today, so you will probably see more pictures of visitors to my feeder later today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.