Ear ear.

Not a pretty sight I know (nice cactus though).But it and its companion have used up a big chunk of my day and this journal is in part about what has happened to me.

Now like most Brits I love the National Health Service. It is a bit of a religion with us. Indeed I have reason to be hugely grateful to it as many of you will know that water in the brain put me in an electric scooter for four years. But ten years ago the NHS surgeons gave me a new excellent life which I have enjoyed enormously.

However, sometimes it is a bit of a shambles. Like today.
As I will be 83 in a week or two it is no surprise that in the past year my hearing has deteriorated. So I get referred to the hospital for a hearing test. On the first visit they would not do it because of too much wax. On the second appointment we were on holiday. On the third I actually had the test.
The we got today’s appointment and I thought it was to be measured up for two hearing aids.
After an hours wait we were ushered in to see the doctor.
It is very disconcerting when he says to you “why have you come to see me?”
I was tempted to reply that as we were in M & S having a coffee and that is not far away we thought we would pop in for a chat.
Anyway he then used a high powered vacuum cleaner which felt as though it was sucking out what little brain I have left. Result is I have the most wax free ears in Cumbria.
But now I have to wait for another letter with a time to go to be fitted for hearing aids.
And tomorrow both Mrs. K. and I have appointments at another hospital at the Eye Clinic.

Life is so busy when you are old. Good thing we are retired.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.