Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Swans on Washbrook Pool

I usually get frustrated when the local water fowl churn up the water surface and break up the early morning reflections.  I was thinking I'd be OK this morning as the clouds coloured up, underlit by the still to rise sun.  That is until these two saw me and made a bee line from the far end of the pool, coming up within 10 feet of me, as in this image.

I'm still not sure if this is a pair, or two immature adults.  Reading various information on the internet about the colour of the beak, the 'berry' above the beak (the black protuberance which is more pronounced in the male during the breeding season) and their relative sizes, i'm guessing they may be immature.  I've also got the thought in the back of my mind that each mating pair I've seen recently has had at least one 'on the nest', incubating eggs.

Still it made for a little diversion from the norm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.