Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

My Viking Hand ..."after"

OK I promised I’d blip the ”after” 4 weeks from having my “Dupuytren’s Contracture” finger injected and straightened.   It’s amazing how common this disease is and this is a relatively new, pretty easy fix, that some have been interested in.  ( If you are not..just quit reading! )   No surgery.  Not sure how well you can tell from this , but now all the fingers line up and there is no collagen fascia cord pulling the little guy forward. (it's still feelable but it's not attached)   The little finger still has the bend from a former injury, but it works!   Had to wear the splint most of the time to keep the fatty tissue in the break and the cord from trying to reattach.     The little circle marks the spot where the drug was injected ..it was a little scab that just came off.    My doc has done 40-50 like this and had maybe 2 or 3 returned with some problem.   Better than the odds on the internet :-)   I’m delighted.  Just a little stiff from disuse and ever so slightly tender, I’m sure it will get stronger fast.   To celebrate , I spent some time with a sewing machine project this afternoon that wouldn’t have been possible with the splint.(here in the extra)   Woo hoo!  Also intend to get out the knitting tonight!   Can use it normally but wear the splint at night 3-4 more weeks as hands usually curl up while asleep. 



I intend this to be the last medical hand photo!!!!  :-)  (yes I used a different rug for backgrounds of them all in an attempt for something interesting,:-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.