Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Pink for Breast Cancer Awareness Month

Penultimate pink blip for October... I've been wanting to do this one for ages! Another localised logo that I really like. The BC ribbon with a face in it. I think it really fits.

I thought I might do some Breast Cancer facts and figures but that may be a bit too much and I don't want to bore you, so here are some links...

Facts & Figures
Help and Useful Information
Latest news on BC Screening Pros and Cons
Start your own cancer journey blog and save HOURS not having to repeat yourself in phone calls or emails! (Geraldine is on there)

When I was still at IIR, one of my closest friends Carol Farrell (yes that is her real name) was diagnosed with BC and I remember her returning to Glasgow for her treatment. When she came back to work we had some good catch up times, but I have to admit, I didn't fully understand/appreciate much of it until G was diagnosed last December. Now I have lived with someone who has gone through it, and it has been a real eye opener.

G was diagnosed Stage 4(b) - her tumour was so large. She was also told that where it was located, a mammogram would not have picked it up. A chance accident at work brought it to the fore. Now 10 months on, she is almost over all of the worst of the treatment and looking forward to full recovery. In her initial consultations, the Doctor spoke of treating her with a view to cure her. I was encouraged. It's more than any doctor has said to me for the chronic conditions that I have!

Stay safe my blip buddies.

PS. I have annoyed G this evening so as a result, she is not blipping! It's all my fault! Sorry!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.