Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Chaos

This is Hunter street.  It used to be the main street into the CBD which really isn't a CBD any more.  The city is changing as is the concentration and location of business.  A light rail system is going in and for the last six months plus we haven't been able to use bits of Hunter street.  The developer decided a few months back "tally ho" and so now you can't drive along most of Hunter street.  Unfortunately, the businesses there are really suffering and no compensation at this stage from the Government.  To the right are a lot of bridal shops, to the left out of view and a bit behind is the University New building and behind me along the street is the Civic theatre and the Council buildings.

This shot is more for a record for me of the street in chaos.  I will do an after shot next year when it is all finished.  It will be fantastic I am sure and I like the direction the city is taking.  I suppose there is always a cost to progress and we all just have to be patient.

Apologies for lack of comments tonight.  The hair has been done (restored to natural colour and cut), it has been a mega busy day at work and I have to get the slides done for training on Saturday.  Tomorrow night I am off to a play so it might not be until the weekend before normality is returned so see you then my friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.