Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Anzac Day

I went to the Nobbys dawn service this morning.  It rained a bit during the service but only a little.  It was lashing as I was walking a long walk back to my car.  I haven't been so wet since the Cat Stevens concert.  It was reported that there were 50,000 people there but it didn't feel like that.  There is something about walking quietly in the dark pre dawn with people that grow in numbers until you reach the event when you come together to pay respect to those who served and serve and remember the Anzacs.  They had a search light at Fort Scratchley which was amazing to see in action and in the first extra it was spotlighting some surfers.

Back home to dry off and then off again to the march.  I know a lot of Blippers like a Pipe band and so the band will do for Bobs challenge of movement today.  The second extra was the chap who was a firm favourite with the crowd.  He was air force and I suspect WWII and if you look closely is still wearing his hospital tag.  The last was some of the marchers who were marching in memory of their relatives.

I was reminded of this song by a one legged man who was singing it loudly to himself as I passed him on my way back from the candlelight service last night.  The original and best of course.

Oh! you who sleep in Flanders Fields,
Sleep sweet - to rise anew!
We caught the torch you threw
And holding high, we keep the Faith
With All who died.


Lest we Forget

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.