Adana

The usual routine. Active half the day and taking it easy for the rest.

The active part was very active. I went up to visit the castle (a ruin a day at the moment) at Buffavento.

It’s the highest of the island’s 3 Crusader castles, at 955m (3,133 feet). The climb from the car park takes about 45 minutes and the face of the mountain is close to vertical, so it’s quite hard work even mid morning in springtime. It is definitely worth it for the fabulous vistas at the summit.

You need to be reasonably fit, have a head for heights, wear the right shoes and take plenty of water.  I was the only person there to start with and I saw only 8 other people in the time I was there.

On the way back to Girne I stopped at the restaurant at the top of the pass where the main road crosses the mountains. It’s the most expensive meal I’ve had here - 47TL (€9.5 or £8.30) - but the quality and quantity were amazing (Extras - there's hummus and more bread out of shot). 5 meze came with the Adana kebab, which was served with bread, bulgur, tomato and onion. They threw in a complimentary Turkish coffee as well. Come to think of it, I had a glass of ayran too, and that’s usually 5TL.

Nice view from my table (also Extras).

I don’t think I’ll go back however. It’s in the middle of nowhere.

I found it hard to get any good shots of the castle which also give a sense of perspective of the mountains, but the one I’ve chosen to Blip will have to do. 

Friday is my last day here. On Saturday the homeward trudge begins. I need a plan for tomorrow (with no ruins in it).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.