Abstract Thursday: Lines

I seem to be flitting around a lot at the moment - the Lake District last week, Hadrian's Wall at the weekend, a couple of days back home - and now we're in Macclesfield again to do some more sorting of Mum-in-Law's house.
 
We chose to drive via Carlisle this time, as we wanted to visit the "World in Miniature Museum" at Houghton Garden Centre near Carlisle on the way. It claims to be one of the world's top three collections of miniatures, and I can believe it. There are over 50 miniature rooms, created in 1/12 scale and the detail is amazing, right down to tiny tools, marquetry inlays, chests with tiny locks, and remarkably good miniature copies of old masters paintings. The only downside? - "Strictly no photography"! I was very tempted, as you can imagine...but I didn't want to be thrown out!
 
Never mind, because anyway I wanted to do an Abstract Thursday blip for Ingeborg's chosen topic of the week which is "Lines". I spotted this 3D "Noughts & Crosses"-type of game in Mum-in-Law's cellar and decided that it had plenty of lines in it. I thought it was quite abstract already but my Editor wasn't convinced and I'm sure she was right. So I gave it a tweak with the "Solarize" filter in Photoshop: I hope that it's abstract enough now; in particular the filter enhanced the shadows cast by the side lighting.
 
(We haven't tried actually playing the game - I think it might drive me mad: you can see that it has a 4x4 matrix in 3 dimensions!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.