Heron, Blossom

My heart sank, there were two Canada geese on the lake and no goslings. :( I'd just seen a bruiser of a ginger tom in the hedge and as you can see from my pic, Jack heron is around and that's just two of the many predators that might have taken them. No sign of mother mallard and her brood either. 

What a wonderful surprise then to see the two Canada parents and their goslings under the willow tree at the opposite end of the lake. So the two geese I first saw are sad goose and a newcomer. They're swimming together but not very closely. I wonder if they will pair up? I'm so happy that sad goose has company. :)

My sister made us a nice lunch before our family business meeting at Battlesbridge. It went very well and afterwards in the evening I drove onto the Dengie marshes. The oil seed rape was vibrant under a threatening sky. (Extras)  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.