Crab Spider

I wandered into the garden when there was a brief break in the rain, feeling dispirited, just to get a quick EB. As often happens, I was soon happily distracted by nature and found myself taking photos of the raindrops on the tulips and reflections in them. I was almost done when I came across this absolute beauty.

Crab spiders (Misumena vatia) are typically found on flower heads where they sit in wait for their prey which they capture with their longer pairs of front legs. They can change colour over a few days; varying from white, yellow or green, to match the flower head they chose to sit in.

As dusk fell and the drizzle recommenced this female retreated right inside the flower head. I shall look out for her again tomorrow.

Happy to have Lauren home again for the weekend.

Philosophy Friday
Everything has beauty, just not everyone sees it. - Confucious

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.