Piwakawaka/ Fantail

Learning from the internet: known for its friendly 'cheet cheet' call and energetic flying antics, the  aptly named fantail is one of the most common and widely distributed native birds on the New Zealand mainland.
There are a pair who like to visit the garden before dusk.  They come quite close but are flitting about very fast so I had several shots with no birds and just fence or blurred birds.  More learning is required to get birds in flight.  This was the sharpest one.   The extra I liked because it showed the long tail and the fluffy feathers. 
A wet day today which is good for the garden.  I made an apple cake and the in laws came around and we devoured it while it was still warm.  The brother in law bought his first Blurb book to show me.  I had coached him in how to make it.  He was proud of it and I was surprised how well phone images had printed.
Last nights drinks went well but nobody remarked on my flowers :-( 
Our neighbour Fred who is 91 has come home after an operation to repair a leaking aneurysm .  It was key hole surgery and now he is very tired.  Probably a big deal for someone half his age.  How to support him and his dear wife was a topic of conversation.  


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.