A Lot of Good Omens!

Dear Diary,

For me, seeing a deer is a good omen but six deer in my back yard, I am over the moon!  One little one was just out of the frame so I've added its picture as an extra. They all look very healthy after our long winter which pleased me.  Winters can be very difficult for our white tail deer, many die of starvation when snow gets too deep for them to dig through.

What I love about this image is that four of the five were very interested in my neighbor's barking dog across the road...on high alert.  But one was completely unconcerned trusting, I suspect, that his friends will watch his back.  Such complete trust is wonderful to see.

The deer in the extra came very close to the house, much closer than the others.  He was the smallest of the group and seemed the most curious.  I do hope they return to graze on the newly growing grass.

I think our dreary, wet weather is going to clear this morning so I will drive to Tamworth for the farm festival.  I have been so looking forward to it.  Seeing more baby animals will be a delight and so will the prediction of warming weather for next week.  After a couple of cool days we may reach 80F on Wednesday!

I just discovered that I blipped a deer last year on this day!  What a coincidence!  That deer was in pretty ruff shape and needed supplemental feeding but these won't need it this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.