Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Mr. Red-bellied Woodpecker

I love his shiny red head. And yet, he is a red-bellied woodpecker. You can sort of see touches of the red on his belly in this shot, just barely. We do have red-headed woodpeckers around here, but I've only ever caught a glimpse of one. Still hoping to capture one "on film."

I'll be off tomorrow midday to drive to West Virginia - near Fayetteville - for the annual New River Birding & Nature Festival! A week of wonderfulness in the mountains of West Virginia. Beautiful birds, people who have become good friends over the past six years, good food, beer... And it looks like we might actually have some good weather this year! Fingers crossed. I'll attempt to put up a daily blip, but I will be unlikely to be looking at yours. Or commenting. See you in a week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.