Bluebells in the rain

The second day of more or less continuous rain, though less persistent than yesterday, which was a real washout. I had a report to finish, so was quite glad that the sun wasn't shining, as there was nothing to tempt me away from the computer and I finished several hours before the deadline.

I was then in desperate need of a bit of fresh air, but as the clouds still looked threatening, only went as far as our local wood. By the time I arrived it was raining lightly again. I was here just over a week ago to do a bird transect, and the bluebells were hardly flowering. Today some of them were already past their peak and in some parts of the wood the ramsons were already in full bloom. 

As light levels were dismally low I gave up trying to take macro shots of wild flowers and played with in-camera movement, trying to gain an impression of the vibrant colours of spring. My results ranged from completely abstract images of blue and lime-green, to ones which revealed something of the structure of the woodland, with its tall oak trees and hazel coppice stools.  It was hard to choose a favourite, but I'll post some others on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.