Nikksnacks

By Nikksnacks

A-Z food challenge: Y is for Yemen

A little afternoon tea treat from Yemen today.

Naqee'e Al Zabeeb (Raisin Infusion) with Ka'ak Al Yamani (Yemeni Cookies).

The cookies are delicious - they're quite savoury. They are a yeast based biscuit with very little sugar and nigella seeds running through them. The only thing I'd say is that the cook time on them is too long, so my first batch came out a bit overcooked. I reduced it to 25 mins and the second batch came out much better. It's also a massive recipe! I divided it by 4 and I still have 3 dozen+ small cookies!

The raisin infusion is super duper sweet! I've added lemon slices and diluted with a lot more water. Think it would taste quite nice though mixed with some iced tea.

Well, only one more letter of the food challenge to go. On Thursday, we're going to be having a Zambian curry for our very last food challenge dinner!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.