Nikksnacks

By Nikksnacks

A-Z Food Challenge: Z is for Zambia

This is it! I've made it to the end of the alphabet! What a fun and interesting challenge it has been, giving me the incentive to find and cook new and unusual dishes, favourite foods that I have sampled on some of my travels, or to evoke childhood memories of certain food.

Tonight's dish is another simple, yet very tasty and comforting curry - a Tongabezi Chicken Curry from Zambia. Lovely flavours in the chicken curry and the pan-fried sweet potato & pumpkin slices provided a nice contrast to the light curry sauce (it wasn't a thick curry, though it could be if given longer to simmer on the stove).

So, what have been some fave highlights of the challenge? Well, for me, I think the challenge started off with a bang, with the Afghanistan dishes of Osh Pyozee (stuffed onions) and Bouranee Baunjan (aubergine stack) turning out beautifully; making Almond Croissants for France was incredibly time consuming but the end product was delicious; the Sabich from Israel was a delicious combo of flavours, and the Caramel & Coconut Pork Belly with Pomelo Salad for Vietnam was an absolute treat - who needs to dine out when dishes turn out that good at home!

So, what next? I'd love to do another challenge but think I'll give myself a little break. Being 33 weeks pregnant, I'm thinking I might have a bit of a detox and feed my belly a good dose of light, nutritious meals over the next two months (albeit with some yummy homemade cakes and bikkies when I feel the need to indulge!)

Thanks to everyone who kept abreast of the foodie challenge dishes and left lovely comments on my blips - it was great to get positive feedback! And if you have any ideas for the next foodie challenge, please do let me know!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.