Newcastle United 0 - West Bromwich Albion 1

It is years, indeed decades, since I last visited St James' Park to watch a football match. This afternoon I returned to the ground with Mr hazelh, my not-so-little sister, and her partner Colin, after a very long absence.

The game itself was a bit of a disappointment: 'Welcome to my world' texted my cousin Richard from across the stadium afterwards. However, the experience as a whole was well worth the journey south. It was especially interesting to compare the civilised 2018 spectator experience in an all-seater stadium patrolled by stewards alert to any infraction of the ground rules with that of the 1970s in the rowdy stands, where smoking, drinking, swearing and fighting were the order of the day.

Afterwards Mr hazelh and I caught the bus west to spend the evening with my parents.

Exercise today: walking (16,880 steps)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.