Little Miss Serious

Obviously I'm biased but I think Miss L is beautiful. Breathtakingly beautiful.
She'll have to take my word for that when she's looking at her passport in a few years time looking at this photo!!
Bless her! Daddy said not to smile so she took him at his word!
We're going to France at the end of next month and Miss L needs a new passport. We meant to get it sorted before we went on holiday and I've been starting to panic about it. Although, by our ridiculously last minute passport application standards, five weeks in advance is pretty impressive!
Mr K filled out the form last night, went round to Mrs F's to get the photos countersigned and assured me it was all fine and everything I needed was there in the envelope.
So off I went to the post office after dropping off the Little Misses. 
Miss L's expired passport wasn't in the envelope so I had to go home and get it. Grrrrrrrrrrr!!!
When I got back to the post office and handed it all over the woman started checking it through.
She didn't get very far before frowning at the form, frowning at Miss L's expired passport, frowning a bit more looking between the form and the passport.
"It says here (the form) her middle name is G and it says here (expired passport) that her middle name is B"
FFS.
Mr K had put Miss E's middle name down!!!!
I looked like a total buffoon who couldn't even get her daughter's middle name right.
I made sure the woman knew it was Miss L's father who was an idiot rather than me!!!!
It eventually got sent off and, fingers crossed, will be back in time for our holiday.
From there I headed to Bicester to my mum's. We had planned to take the dogs out for their usual Monday walk but the weather was rubbish so we decided to go to the pictures instead! 
Last time we were in Guernsey I bought a copy of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. It has sat on my bookshelf, unread, ever since.
Because we were going back to Guernsey on our cruise - and because I saw they'd made a film of it - I decided to read the book a few weeks ago. 
I loved it!!! It packed a punch for a quick read. 
Mum and I went to see the film today which I loved too. Despite not being filmed in Guernsey it managed to capture some of the feel of it I think. And the awfulness of the Occupation and the complexities of the entwined lives of the Islanders and the Germans. In such close proximity.
And it's within living memory. Unimaginable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.