secret garden

By freespiral

05.44

Yes, that is correct. This Is what the world looked like at 5.44am this morning - pretty damn gorgeous!  The moon was huge and casting a silvery glow right across the bay.
You may wonder what on earth I was doing out and about at this ungodly hours, and i must confess I did too as I scrapped the ice off the windscreen (really). But you may remember that every year, once in April and once in May, I get up ridiculously early,  zoom beyond Skibbereen then walk around my square with a clipboard looking important, and no doubt somewhat suspicious. Yes, it is the annual birdwatch/bird count event. My square, a mile square in fact, is in the middle of nowhere but there are hills, a lake, fields and a scattering of farms. It's divided into 10 transects - the first 3, as I set off, were alarmingly quiet, hardly a chirrup then things livened up.  Most plentiful birds were starlings, blue tits and goldfinches - quite different to normal and I wondered if it was because my first excursion was a bit later than normal and all the willows were blossoming.

It was an absolutely beautiful morning and there is something pleasant about being out and about so early. I saw a large cow and her teeny calf, annoyed an old dog, and waved to the man collecting milk in a huge tanker.

The sun continued to shine and we have been wood staining the largest shed until hail stopped play. Nice while it lasted. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.