Baby Gators

I spent a couple of hours at Sweetwater Wetlands Park, here in Gainesville, this morning. It was the first time that I'd been able to visit since my knee surgery and it felt as though I'd 'come home'! I was hoping to see the Osprey pair feeding their chicks but it seemed that I had just missed that event and the parents were just sitting around watching their kids sleep. I'll need to return in a week or so with my long lens and tripod (and something to sit on). I walked over to the Boardwalk Pavilion where I could sit and rest a bit in the shade. I looked down into the water and spotted a baby American Alligator. Knowing that where there's one there are usually more, I waited and sure enough four more swam out from under the Pavilion. I was happily snapping away when a couple more swam out. In all we counted 10 baby 'gators. Someone said that the momma 'gator originally had 33 babies! Baby Alligators have a high mortality rate, several large predators find them a tasty snack. Their fathers are right up there at the top of that list! It's not easy being a Baby Gator! Wishing all of you a Peaceful Week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.