Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

The Compton Wave

BikerBear and I had another wonderful day cruising around in her convertible!  We ran into PhotoMatt in the morning at Bolivar Flats and I asked him to take this photo of our silliness.  My first extra is a Common Nighthawk that we saw there.  Then we went to the Smith Oaks Rookery which was really amazing!  There were thousands of nesting birds, including three kinds of egrets, cormorants, Anhingas, three kinds of herons, White Ibis and Roseate Spoonbills.  My second extra is a Great Egret giving her nestling a lesson in preening.  The third extra is another resident of the rookery, an alligator.  When I downloaded the image I noticed that it has a red dragonfly hitchihiking on its back.  From there we took the ferry back to Galveston, after a long wait in a very long line of cars.  When we finally got back, we drove to the old town area of Galveston where we cruised through the historic neighborhood looking at all the interesting houses.  We had planned to photograph them but neither of us picked up a camera.  I wish we had, some were really beautifully restored.

By then it was time to meet the rest of the BoBBers for our last evening together.  It's always so hard to say goodbye to all of my Blipmates but the BoBB 2018 had come to end.  It was such a pleasure spending this time together and I look forward to doing it all again next year!  

I am grateful to BikerBear and dbifulco for all their hard work to make this the fabulous time that it was!!

Backblipped on 4/29.  I'll probably continue to blip a day behind for the rest of our trip.  One more day here on Galveston Island and then we head for San Antonio on Tuesday. :-)

Be sure to check out Naturelover's blip to see our group portrait, including Piper!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.