Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Mystery Solved

I've been going to the pond where these beautiful Yellow-headed Blackbirds usually nest for the past 3 weeks to look for them.  Today I finally saw three of them there but there are usually at least 30-50.  After taking several shots I decided to drive to the big lake about a half mile away.  They always used to nest there until about five years ago when for some ridiculous reason all their habitat was mown down, so they moved to the smaller pond.  Finally the reeds and cattails have grown back and the birds have moved back home. Now I know where to find them. :-)

It was a beautiful sunny, warm morning so I decided to skip my second cup of coffee and get out with my camera.  I am grateful that I did because it got cloudy and windy around noon an the rest of the day was better spent inside.  Snow is in the forecast for tomorrow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.