Constant Companion

3 am and look who's sleeping beside me. Very comforting.

Pain interfering with sleep. I ran out of codeine two days ago.

After first session with physio who hadn't been expecting me because the person who was supposed to be seeing me had rung in sick, thus forcing the appointment to proceed, we called at the surgery where I asked if I could be prescribed more codeine.

Had to ring back after 2 pm to remind the doctor to issue a prescription. Discovered it was the doctor I was registered with who was on duty, and laughingly suggested to the receptionist he should pull his finger out. She simpered.

Anyway. Len comes back with eight packets of codeine, enough to put me on a real high and make me an addict, and most of which I shall hand back, all being well. Pity. I believe it can't be prescribed to anyone else once it's been issued to me. I just need enough to dull the pain while  my muscles get back together.

The sun even came out late this morning, despite a very gloomy, rainy forecast. We're not complaining.

My faithful friend missed me while I was away, and keeps studying me with real concern while I stomp about the house. Bless Basil!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.