Coquet Island

The boys went off to church in Alnwick and I went for a run.  The rain of yesterday had gone and it was a really lovely morning.  I enjoyed my run (apart from the big hill – which I walked up!), and it was so nice to run past fields of baa-ing lambs.  Once I was off road, it was very muddy and I was in quite a mess by the time I got back.

When the boys returned TT suggested a walk up a hill, which I declined as I was sure it would be really muddy.  Instead we got in the car, with no real destination in mind.  We ended up at Warkworth Castle, where it was unseasonably warm.  We have visited many times, and my abiding memory is of a biting cold wind.

We then had a lovely walk around by the river and through the village.  We decided to head off for a  late lunch, but again had no clear destination in mind.  We ended up in Seahouses, where we bought sandwiches and treats from the co-op and had a very late picnic lunch.

We had a lovely drive back home.  TT was on tea, so I went for a wander to stretch my legs off.  BB was ensconced on the sofa, watching another DVD.

This is Coquet Island from Warkworth Castle.  The extra is a horse I spotted on my evening wander.   BB couldn’t decide if it looked like a Dalmatian dog or a zebra, with its spots and stripes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.