Ribblehead

We decided to drive down to Skipton today. It's a lovely drive on the same route we took yesterday but on further. We had a short stop for coffee at Grassington which is a lovely little place. Once in Skipton we took a walk through the town and down to the canal. I took a walk down the canal while Marian went back to the shops as there was wool shop that she wanted to go to.

We met up to have lunch. It seemed that Marian hadn't been able to find the shop she wanted but after a little internet search we located it and took a little walk down there.

We returned to the car and headed off in the Settle direction which made a circular tour. It struck me that the Ribblehead Viaduct couldn't be too far away so we headed that way. I set up my tripod beside the road and took a few shots but I thought it would be good to have one with a train coming across it. You can see that shot in my extra. It would have been nice to have a steam loco in BR livery rather than this little commuter train but you can't have everything. I expected that to be my blip but we set off again and noticed the tree that see in my main blip. There didn't seem to be anywhere to stop so we carried on and stopped in a layby where we brewed up a cup of tea which we had with a couple of jaffa cakes. When we set off again we realised we were going in the wrong direction so a quick u-turn was in order. That gave us another chance to find the tree again and there was a place to pull off the road a little further on. It really is growing out of that boulder.

It's been a lovely weather all day except for the cold wind that's been blowing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.