Slow

The weather is slow to change.  Surely we've had enough rain now.

Daphne retusa is a slow growing shrub. Sometimes grafted onto Daphne tangutica which imparts more vigour but comes with risks attached if the plant shoots from below the graft.  D. tangutica is much faster growing, making a more open shrub, growth which soon swamps the retusa graft.  My plant of Daphne retusa is on it's own roots, it's probably around 25 years old but still only about 20 inches high.  Not as generous with it's flowers as I would like but bedraggled in the rain or not, they have a wonderful scent. 

Not my most productive day.  Finding a solution to a (very) flat wheelbarrow tyre (tubeless) that did not involve buying a new wheelbarrow took much longer than I'd hoped.  A new wheel is on it's way.  I did find time to plant a few seeds and to collect some plants I 'won' in a plant exchange.  Just waiting to see if the sun is still up there.  Tomorrow maybe.

Big thanks to all who have starred, faved or commented on my drippy blips over the last few days :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.