Back again

I remember the Pearce institute in Govan from the Govan by-election of 1987 which was the first major campaign I was involved in helping organise just weeks after I became a senior office bearer of the SNP. There were candidate debates there and just along from it, at Govan Cross, we had a street stall virtually every day.

The Poll Tax campaign also had meetings there and I was the deputy spokesperson for that , backing up Kenny MacAskill on the ‘Can Pay, Won't Pay“ campaign. However I think that the decision to conclude the campaign was made at a big meeting in Govan Town Hall, not the Pearce Institute.

Tonight - after almost 30 years - I was back there speaking at a Brexit meeting organised by the Health and Social Care Alliance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.